Page 1 of 29 12311 ... LastLast

Thread: "Female Skaters"

Default "Female Skaters"

Hi all,

I've got a sneaky suspicion this topic may have been done to death......so if I'm going over old ground, apologies and please direct me to the appropriate thread!

A recent tweet by Sidewalk pointed me in the direction of Rogue Skateboards. I checked it out and me and my 14 month old daughter went on to look at some of the videos on youtube. We looked at Lacey Baker as well who is amazing.

I tweeted Jenny Selby's website - "documenting female skateboarders"

Got a reply - "would men say hi, I'm a male accountant"

Initially I felt, well, skating's very male dominated, so pointing out that an individual's website promotes specifically female skateboarding can't be a bad thing?

Anyway, it would appear it can be?

I'm not completely ignorant to think that I don't have some preconceived notions about the differences between the sexes, some conscious, some unconscious. But I never felt I was overtly prejudiced!

So anyway, this reply got me thinking (I apologised btw). I would be very interested to hear people's opinions on this. I know this forum has old and new heads on it. For my part, I'm an old head! When I was skating regularly, it was basically Elissa Steamer and that was it. (I must admit I didn't really go out of my way to research other female skateboarders.)

Can it be a good thing to mention a skater's gender? I suppose it would depend on the context. In the internet age is it less relevant? If you don't mention gender, will young women (non skaters) bother to follow the link?

Thanks for listening!

Default Re: "Female Skaters"

Not that I give a shit either way, but do you think if a female became the world's number one skateboarder (by whatever measure you wish to use) that women would ever shut up about it?

I call it black president syndrome.